A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects 

Serving Michigan's Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, and Washtenaw Counties
Log in

2017 AIA Huron Valley Honor Awards Recipients Announced!

Monday, October 03, 2016 9:39 PM | Anonymous member

The Huron Valley chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Huron Valley) announced the recipients of its 2017 Honor Award Program during a reception at the Michigan League Ballroom on September 22, 2017.

Twenty five projects, designed by registered architects practicing in the Huron Valley Chapter area (Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Monroe, and Washtenaw Counties), were submitted for consideration by an independent jury. Five of the projects were selected to receive a merit-based Honor Award for the demonstration of skill and sensitivity in the resolution of aesthetic, functional and technical requirements, and/or the advancement of the contemporary understanding of architecture.

Project boards for all 25 submissions will be part of a rotating exhibit that will be on display until next fall at several locations throughout the five-county AIA Huron Valley area.

Building Award Recipients:

Argo-Culture Liquid Fertilizers Headquarters

Hobbs and Black Architects

Contractor: Wieland

St. Johns, Michigan

Category: New Construction:Commercial & Institutional over 10,000 sf

Sushi Grand

HopkinsBurns Design Studio

Contractor: Grand Hotel

Mackinac Island, Michigan

Category: Interior Architecture: Commercial & Institutional

House on Geddes Ravine

Angelini & Associates Architects

Ann Arbor, MI

Contractor: Beechwood Building and Design

Category: New Construction: Residential

Garber Residence Addition

Lewis Greenspoon Architects

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Contractor: Gipfert’s Construction

Category: Addition or Renovation—Residential

Haarer Building Residential Renovation

O|X Studio, Inc.

Ann Arbor, MI

Contractor: CCS Construction

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Category: Addition or Renovation—Residential

Recognition Award Recipients

Brad and Theresa Angelini

Firm Founder Recognition

Honoring a chapter member who has founded a successful architectural firm that has had a minimum of 5 persons on staff for at least 10 consecutive years.

Carl A. Luckenbach, AIA

Lifetime Recognition Award

Recognizes an architect who has clearly demonstrated distinguished leadership in any phase of the profession over an extended period of time and is made in recognition of outstanding achievement in one or more areas of professional endeavor and/or notable contributions to the AIA.

Stephen Wilson, AIA

Founders’ Award for Leadership

Recognizes a board member whose leadership has exceeded the high standards of service and whose dedication has elevated the standing of the Huron Valley AIA within the profession.

Dawn Zuber, AIA

Eugene Hopkins Distinguished Service Award

Honors a chapter member who has clearly demonstrated distinguished and outstanding service to the AIA.


  • Tuesday, October 04, 2016 9:36 AM | Anonymous member
    Congratulations to all! Be sure to send an email to the membership to announce these winners!
    Link  •  Reply
© AIA Huron Valley
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management