A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects 

Serving Michigan's Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, and Washtenaw Counties
Log in

2016 Honor Awards Winners Announced

Sunday, November 22, 2015 9:27 AM | Anonymous member

Full Press Release

As part of its commitment to advancing the contemporary understanding of architecture, the Huron Valley chapterof the American Institute of Architects (AIA Huron Valley) announced the recipients of its 2016 Honor Awards Program at its biennial awards ceremony at the Bentley Historical Library on October 23rd, 2015.

Twenty-nine projects, designed by registered Architects practicing in the Huron Valley Chapter area (Jackson, Lenawee, Livingston, Monroe, and Washtenaw Counties), were submitted for consideration by an independent jury. Ten of the projects were selected by the jury to receive a merit-based Honor Award for the demonstration of skill and sensitivity in the resolution of aesthetic, functional and technical requirements, and/or the advancement of the contemporary understanding of architecture. All submissions will be exhibited at several locations throughout the year, starting with the Mallett’s Creek branch of the Ann Arbor District Library for the month of November, then on to the Brighton Public Library. In addition, a Lifetime Achievement Award, two Firm Achievement Awards, the Emil Lorch Award, a Distinguished Community Service Award, and the Eugene Hopkins Distinguished Service Award were presented.

The 2016 AIA Huron Valley Honor Award recipients are:

Building Category

  • Outdoor Adventure Center, Hobbs + Black Architects
  • Knapp's Centre, Quinn Evans Architects
Preservation Category
  • Chittenden Hall, HopkinsBurns Design Studio
  • Wing Lake Schoolhouse, HopkinsBurns Design Studio
Interior Architecture Category
  • Tomukun Korean BBQ, O|X Studio, Inc.
Residential Category
  • Dunham Lake House, Angelini & Associates Architects
  • Idaho House, Charles Bultman, architect
Small Project / Low Budget Category
  • Afton Alps, Lindhout Associates Architects
  • Phire Branding, O|X Studio, Inc.
  • Iorio's Gelateria, N_space architectures
Firm Achievement Award
  • HopkinsBurns Design Studio
  • Charles Bultman, architect
Twenty-Years-Plus Recognition
  • Angelini & Associates Architects

Fifty-Years-Plus Recognition
  • Hobbs + Black Architects
Firm Founder Recognition
  • William S. Hobbs, Hobbs + Black Architects
Eugene Hopkins Distinguished Service Award
  • Tamara E. L. Burns, AIA

Emil Lorch Award

  • Dr. James J. Chaffers, FAIA
Distinguished Community Service Award
  • David Esau, AIA
Lifetime Recognition Award
  • Jan Culbertson, AIA
© AIA Huron Valley
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management